The 5th Annual Origins HOTT Tournament
Origins - Columbus, OH
Saturday, June 28, 2008

Click on thumbnails for larger images

Former Origins HOTT Champion, Allen Sams

Once again the halls of the Columbus Convention Center were invaded by armies both fantastic and astounding. Steel clashed against skin, flesh gave way to iron, and scales met with fur in titanic clashes and thunderous conflicts.

Some of the most heated battles and best gameplay was seen this year in the 5th Annual Origins Hordes of the Things Tournament. We saw beasts of all sorts and a surprising number of aliens flooding the scenes ... And the god of the Anasazi nearly swept the field in its rampage.

As with previous years, play consisted of four full rounds, using the Berkeley scoring system. With a record-breaking 22 players and nobody leaving early, the miniatures hall was resounding with mirth well into the night and the fury of the gameplay was only matched by the tension of the final round.

Last year's Frog army made a return appearance, and there were a surprising number of spectacular new army choices, most notably Rob Runnels's Anaszi army and Greg Crane's Little Green Men from Mars, featuring the Iron Giant.

Tournament Format
Berkeley HOTT
Army Size Scale Round Length
24 AP's 15mm 60 minutes
  • Four rounds, 1 hour per round
  • 3 Points for a win, 1 for a tie
  • Ranking by Points, AP's taken as tie-breaker, then by Generals taken
  • Proposed 2.1 Shooter/Warband movement rules
The Glorious Return of the Frogs!

Final Standings
Player Army Results
Derek Wagener Forest Dwarves 3 - 0 - 1 (44 Pts ,1G)
Mike Demana The Dogs of War (Origins Style) 3 - 0 - 1 (41 Pts ,2G)
Robert Runnels Anasazi with Alien Allies 3 - 0 - 1 (16 Pts ,3G)
Jenny Torbett It's All Greek to Me (Origins) 3 - 1 (38 Pts )
Eric Luczaj Autumn Goblins in the Summer Field 3 - 1 (29 Pts ,2G)
Daniel Henderson Reptilian 2 - 0 - 2 (34 Pts ,1G)
Mike Stelzer Night Elves 2 - 1 - 1 (37 Pts ,2G)
Greg Crane Little Green Men From Mars 2 - 1 - 1 (31 Pts ,1G)
Tim Monaghan Alien Bugs Under New Management 2 - 2 (44 Pts ,1G)
Matt Beaty The Ice Orcs Triumphant Return 2 - 2 (41 Pts ,1G)
Allen Sams Doin' the Ratt Thing 2 - 2 (36 Pts ,1G)
Johne Wagener Birds of Doom 2 - 2 (24 Pts ,1S)
Keith Finn Dyno Sore Heads 2 - 2 (18 Pts ,2G)
Steve Cole Batu's Barbarians 2 - 2 (15 Pts ,2G)
Bob Boggs Elven/Dwarven Army 1 - 2 - 1 (30 Pts )
Mike Cole The Other Army Without a Name 1 - 2 - 1 (29 Pts ,1G)
Duane Clark The Frogs of War 1 - 2 - 1 (24 Pts )
Dave Russo The Amazons of Amazonia 1 - 3 (26 Pts )
Jason Stelzer Dwarves of Springfield 1 - 3 (18 Pts )
Daniel Moehn The Aliens 1 - 3 (3 Pts )
Dylan Fraser Arthur Rex 0 - 3 - 1 (0 Pts )
Thomas Moehn Mech 0 - 4 (0 Pts )
Henry the Healer and Daisy the Devout!
Gladbags, all-around!

A Plethora of Hyenamen!
The Wide Array of Prizes!
You're kidding ... I won?

As a sponsor of our previous Hordes of the Things tournaments, Splintered Light Miniatures ( came through once again with a phenomenal painted prize ... A full 24 AP painted Hyena-men army, as well as a second-place Lion-Dragon and a lovely collection of sample figures such that everyone went away with something.

In another tremendous outcome, after the top three contestants all went 3-0-1, Derek Wagener, a relative newcomer to the HOTT tournaments, walked away with the victory by points. He took home the grand prize, but the final rounds were filled with well-fought and close battles, and everyone deserves to be congratulated for their efforts.

A huge thanks to Steve Sattler for running this annual extravaganza. As always, a very special thanks to everyone who was gracious enough to bring loaner armies for the new players. Your supportage, sportage, and portage are ever appreciated. And, of course, a hearty thanks to absolutely everyone who showed up.

We hope to see everyone (and more) at next year's 6th Annual tournament. There's little telling what prizes may appear between now and then, but it's certain that they'll be worth the battle. Plan your conquests now!


Please send any comments/criticisms/corrections to

Click to return to the Tournament Index Page

This page was last updated on July 2nd, 2010 at 06:00 PM